Nursing Home Transition & Diversion

The Nursing Home Transition and Diversion (NHTD) Medicaid Waiver offers New Yorkers with disabilities and senior citizens a way to live in the community. The NHTD program offers a wide range of special services that help people in their daily lives including: re-teaching basic skills, building ramps to allow access to homes, and safety monitoring.

How does the NHTD program work?

There are nine agencies located across NYS that can help anyone interested in the NHTD program. ARISE serves as the local NHTD Regional Resource Development Center (RRDC) for the Syracuse Region (Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, and St. Lawrence counties).

As the RRDC, we can help you get started and assist you in selecting a Service Coordination agency. The Service Coordination agency will then work with you to apply for the NHTD program and develop a service plan.

Who is eligible for the NHTD program?

To be eligible for the program, you must be:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • eligible for nursing home level of care
  • eligible for Medicaid coverage for community-based long term care

If you have any questions, free free to contact us to learn more.

What if I don’t qualify for NHTD?

We can still help! Our Health Care Advocacy Program can help you access the health care and home services that you need in order to move out of, or avoid entering, a nursing home. Learn more about our Health Care Advocacy Program.